Aphogee Intensive Keratin Reconstructor and relaxing

Denim And Leather

Ok, so I went to Sally's this afternoon, and bought a few more things I need when I self relax. I bought the Aphogee Intensive Keratin Reconstructor to use during the process, because I read that this is good at protecting the hair from damage from relaxing by allowing protein in, since the hair will be breaking down (hope I'm explaining this correctly).

My question is that since I'm using Phyto II for my relaxer, and it's chemical free, is this still necessary? I figure it would be, since Phyto is still breaking down my hair to straighten it, with what I don't know (since I'm still new at this).

Also, should I use Aphogee treatment for chemically treated hair a week after the relaxer (which would be my first wash after relaxing)? This actually sounds like too much protein to me in such a short time, and I don't want a repeat of the middle of April! LOL!

Last edited:

TeeKay21

I don't know if that will be too much protien for you, but I can tell you I use Phyto II and I used the Aphogee 2 min reconstructor a week after my 1st relaxer and the week after that too. My hair is nice and strong. I use strickly moisture products during the week and use protien for my wash days.

I can't comment on if the Aphogee treatment for relaxed hair is going to be too much for as I havn't tried it. But I will say follow what your hair tells you. My hair loves protien so you will just have to do what's best for you.

HTH!!!!

brooklyngal73

SteelyDan/DonaldFagenFan!
I think that SistaSlick used Aphogee 2 min reconstructor successfully w/ her recent relaxer. As I recall, she used it after she rinsed out the relaxer but BEFORE she neutralized.

*this is a cue for SistaSlick to come in this thread to confirm my post*

Sistaslick

Denim And Leather said: