How often do you Henna / Indigo?

Whimsy

I henndigo-ed for the first time this weekend and LOVE the results.
How often is OK to use henna and indigo?
I'm loving how soft but strong my hair feels, and I want to get it darker and darker....

Would I be overdoing it if I made this an every other week occurrence?

greenandchic

With all my intentions to do it every other week, I generally don't get to it more than once a month. I've known of people online on various forums and blogs that do it that often with beautiful results. As long as you deep condition after each application, I don't see a problem with doing it that often.

The downside for some people is that henna loosens their curls. It doesn't do that to me, but it does happen to some especially if you do it often.

IDareT'sHair

PJ Rehabilitation Center
I do it about every 6-8 weeks to cover greys. I agree, it is a cumulative effect. The more you do it, the deeper the results.

I've been doing it for about 2 years. Love the color and the benefits.

JJamiah

I also do it every 8 weeks to cover my greys. Be sure to DC.

I found it toooooo drying to do it every month. I do both Henna and Indigo. I am going to mix Hibiscus with it this time.

IDareT'sHair

PJ Rehabilitation Center
I also do it every 8 weeks to cover my greys. Be sure to DC.

I found it toooooo drying to do it every month. I do both Henna and Indigo. I am going to mix Hibiscus with it this time.

JJamiah

I Totally Agree JJ!:yep:

Not sure for those who mix it with Conditioners etc for Conditioning.....but for Coloring Properties I think it would be waayyyy too drying for My Hair.:yep:

greenandchic

JJamiah

I Totally Agree JJ!:yep:

Not sure for those who mix it with Conditioners etc for Conditioning.....but for Coloring Properties I think it would be waayyyy too drying for My Hair.:yep:

I do henna glosses (mixing conditioner with my henna mix) and still get color uptake. Maybe alternate henna alone with henna glosses...

JJamiah