Does mustard oil penetrate the hair shaft?

Averoigne

I have found a lot of information on this site and other sources online about the penetrative properties of various oils, but I'm having a difficult time finding out much about mustard oil. Does it penetrate the hair shaft?

My hair loves mustard oil. I use it as a modified oil rinse/co wash by mixing it in a 1:3 ratio with cheapie conditioner and following up with a conditioner. I am a 4a/3b type, relaxed, and I have been stretching my relaxer for 5 months. The mustard oil allows me to glide through my new growth with incredible ease. After drying, my new growth feels loosened and nourished, with a deep softness that I have never experienced with another oil. Mustard oil just might possibly convince me to transition...:yep:

My other favorite oils are coconut, avocado, and hemp seed, and I have had a lot of success with finding out information about their abilities to penetrate the hair shaft. I'm just wondering what the true scoop is on mustard oil. I know that there has been a controversy surrounding its use due to a widespread argemone contamination of its primary supply in India many years ago, and it hasn't recovered from that negative publicity.

It seems like it has too much of a transformative effect on my hair to just be sitting on top of it as a coating, but I can't find a single shred of documentation to substantiate this feeling.

Has anyone else had positive experiences with mustard oil, or found any more information about it in their research? Any and all thoughts that you have would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

yardyspice

I was just googling mustard oil and this came up. I saw it in an Indian store and I thought I would check LHCF. Thanks for posting.

dlewis

I don't know but I hated this oil. Here's my review from 2 years ago: