Long Hair Care Forum
Home Rules Feature Of The Month !! SUBSCRIBE !! Reviews iSpy Blogs Groups Contact Us

Go Back   Long Hair Care Forum > Long Hair Care Forum's Discussion Boards > Hair Care Tips & Product Review Discussion

User Tag List

Old 11-13-2003, 12:03 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default How long does it take to have long natural hair?

How long does it take to have like shoulder length or longer natural 4a/4b hair when the hair is unchemically treated, not straightened, and not wet? I have been growing out a relaxer for about 10 months. My relaxed hair reaches to a few inches short of bra-strap length when straightened. My natural hair grows in very thick and at normal rate when stretched, but it seems that it is going to take a long long time before I have a glorious head full of natural hair.

I didn't want to cut off my relaxed hair until I had a LOT of natural hair, and I have been patiently enduring the entire transitioning process for almost a year. My long-term desire is to have bra-strap long natural hair , and seeing all the shrinkage issues - I am wondering - is this a reasonable goal? How much longer will I be waiting? 1 year, 2 years, 5 years? Does anyone on this forum have 4a/4b bra strap long natural hair when unstraightened?
Old 11-13-2003, 01:18 AM

Thanked 2,542 Times in 1,054 Posts
Mentioned: 268 Post(s)
Tagged: 32 Thread(s)
Default Re: How long does it take to have long natural hair?

Well it's really hard to say because everyone has slight differences in curl patterns and shrinkage. But a general pattern I've noticed with myself and other naturals is that just-above SD or shoulder length natural hair = just-above BS or BS b-dried/pressed, and just-aboveBS/BS/below BS natural hair= waist/just below waist b-dried/pressed hair, waist natural=butt-length pressed, and so on. This is only my opinion and what I've noticed it's not a rule, but it will give you something to go by.