Oh lord... I was asked a "do black people" question

isawstars

I'm sure we've all experienced this... someone outside our race asking us if we use grease, if we have a "weave," how long it takes to get our hair done and etc... I haven't been asked a qustion like this since middle school and i'm now a freshman in college, so i was shocked and decided to share this with you.

Friend (9:54:28 PM): can you dispell a rumor for me
Friend (9:54:35 PM): how often do you wash your hair?
ME (9:54:42 PM): 2-3 times a week
ME (9:54:54 PM): why?
Friend (9:55:02 PM): ok...
Friend (9:55:17 PM): cause i've heard rumors that it's only like once a week... or as little as once a month
Friend (9:56:05 PM): i wash mine everyday though
ME (9:56:07 PM): once a week is probably the average
ME (9:56:20 PM): well duh, your hair gets oily fast
ME (9:56:27 PM): ours doesn't
Friend (9:57:22 PM): hrmmmm, interesting
Friend (9:57:32 PM): *turns black*
ME (9:57:33 PM):...you didn't know that?
Friend (9:58:22 PM): ummmmm
Friend (9:58:27 PM): how would i have known that?
Friend (9:58:35 PM): it's not like they teach us that in school or anything

caligirl

My white roommate in college asked me why I don't wash my hair. I told her I get it "done" (pressed) every 3 weeks. Ain't no way in the world water is touching my head in between. Now I think back and cringe.

Shatani

i didnt get this part....

Friend (9:57:22 PM): hrmmmm, interesting
Friend (9:57:32 PM): *turns black*

i dunno....maybe im in the minority....but i have no problem answering questions like that...especialy if its a friend. *shrugs*

carletta

I hear ya on the questions! I get ( when I have braids )..................

1. WOW how long did it take to get that done?
2. how long will it stay up?
3. how often do you wash it, can u wash it, how do u wash it?????????? :ohwell:
4. can I get my hair done like that?
5. now, how long is your hair........then

6.THEY START TO PUT THE HANDS ON IT IF THEY CAN :whip: