New and Lost

lshevonne

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this great site but need lot's of help.
My hair length is anywhere from 2 1/2 inches to 5 inches long. If you know of any good relaxers please share. I've used Fabulaxer in the past but have just switched to Just For Me. I was looking for something not so strong. My hair is 4B and has been shedding a lot. Way before the relaxer switch. I know it's all due to stress. I don't take any vitamins but know I need to. (I hate pills) I love the braid out styles but don't think my hair is long enough for them. I'm going on week 8 since my last touch-up and it's really hard. I'm trying to see if I can make it to 12 weeks. I know my hair needs the break. I wash/condition my hair once a week, deep conditions every week or every other week. Apply JFM maintenance products, Frizz Ease - Relax Serum, Olive Oil and Hair Food. I also apply Infusium 23 and/or Aura Elixir as leave ins. I think that covers everything that I do. I haven't used curling irons, flat irons or blowdryers in about 2 mths. I've been wearing my hair in a ponytail hair piece or bun.
** Let me just add that my funds a very limited ** LOL

Kitkat

<font color="purple"> Hi Ishevonne! Welcome to the forum and thanks for joining us! Looking forward to seeign more posts from you soon. The ladies here are extremely helpful and very supportive.

Are Fabulaxer and Just for Me lye relaxers or no-lyes? I ask because, as many of us found out thru trial and error (including me) /images/graemlins/smirk.gif no-lye relaxers tend to be very drying on the hair in the long run. A few ladies here use no-lye relaxers, and their hair looks great. Check out the home page model, Adrienne - I believe she uses Dark &amp; Lovely no-lye &amp; she has beautiful hair. But from everything that I've read on this forum and in black hair care books, no-lye relaxers don't agree with most of us. I use Affirm Mild, which worked surprising well on my 4a/4b hair.