I Permed My Hair! - From 4a to 2c (Pics)

trinity8mod8

So I decided to try something new with my hair because I really wanted to wear wash-n-gos more without my hair tangling and dealing with shrinkage. There isn't a lot of information about perming (permanent waving) Type 4 hair on the web, but I decided to go for it anyway. So I used an alkaline Tressa perm for resistant hair and 7/8 inch perm rods. My mother-in-law put in the rollers and applied the wave lotion. I sat under a dryer for 25 mins, which may have been too long because my roots are a little straighter than I would like.

But the end results turned out pretty well and I like the curls/waves in my hair. This treatment loosened up my texture quite a bit, next time I will probably use a milder perm. I plan to grow out my hair for a year before doing another perm. My roots are usually very wavy with weight on the ends, so I am hoping the roots will blend with the waves over time. I am new to all this, so this is all just an experiment. I was hoping maybe some ladies here could chime in with their permanent waving experiences so that I have some idea of how long before the treatment wears off and what the processed texture will look like over the next few months :)

I didn't lose any hair and my hair doesn't feel dry or damaged. The waving solution smelled horrible though. I am also wearing my hair with a deep conditioner on it right now.

Before:

After:

Deep Treatment Mask

This is the perm I used:

Last edited:

DarkJoy

Bent. Not Broken.
Yes, I would also like to see a dry pic. Looks beautiful, though OP!

Also, how would a TU go? Do you apply the lotion only to the roots? Will you have to protein the hair a lot like a relaxer? Will it be drier? This is all very interesting--I've never know a Type 4 to get a perm like this before!

I also wonder if the demarcation line will be weak like a relaxer as well, particularly since you will be stretching...

Anyhow, keep us updated!

trinity8mod8