KINKY CURLY REVIEW ON TEXLAXED HAIR

havilland

Magical Mythical Princess
I have texlaxed, very fine, fragile, medium porosity, 3c hair that is 9 months post. (whew....mouth full!):lol:

I usually wear protective styles like half wigs or weaves, but i decided to give my hair a break and do a curly ponytail.

This is my first time using Kinky Curly products and I was on the fence a bit due to mixed reviews.

I used the Knot Today after my co wash and immediately had a love hate relationship with it. It gave lots of slip, but because i have two textures on my head, i was not feeling how it made my natural curls pop. they immediately curled up tight. i didn't like this response ONLY because i knew that would make it hard to get those curls to smooth out in to a ponytail holder. if my whole head was natural it would have been AWESOME!....i digress.

i rinsed it out and applied my regular leave in and proceeded to put my hair into a pony. this ponytail was really pretty in summer of 2011, which was the last time i saw her. however, now that those ends are older, they need a more "protective" product to tame frizz. the first picture is the pony without the KK products. this was a big time fail. the "tail" was frizzy, fried, and yuck looking!

i decided to keep my hair in a pony but to re-wet just the ends and apply the KK Knot Today to the ends and then apply the Curling Custard. I did it just as they demonstrate on their you tube video.

the result was fabulous! the second and third picture are my hair 50% dry and 100% dry with the KK products. no frizz. my hair dried a little "crunchy" but i referred to the video to remedy this. i put a TINY dab of hot six oil in my hands and gently scrunched the hair. problem solved!